Hilarious

Torin’s English assignment – with help from his family of course. I thought it worthy of a share and save because it is a snapshot of a day in the life of the Hill family.

Hilarious

Sitting around the table at dinner last night I asked, “So, what are the things that you find funny? What makes you laugh?”. It makes a fun and lighthearted dinner conversation and I needed some ideas for an English paper. You see, different things make different people laugh and if your goal is to make someone else laugh, you needed content.  I didn’t think a description of other peoples “fails” caught on video would do the trick. Although, the stupidity of humanity can get a chuckle out of me. Fortunately, I have a large family for resources. We had gathered around our large table that seats ten and we had just started to dig in to Mother’s enchilada’s when I popped the question.

A loud burst of laughter erupted across the table and I looked at Evan. I could feel my eyebrow raise dubious as I waited for an explanation. He actually got up and left everyone wondering.

 “I saw the funniest meme today.” My brother started out and you could feel the eyes rolling around the table. He has a unique sense of humor that nobody really understands. “So there is this little boy,” he continued, “in an old blue turtle necked shirt in jeans with root beer in his hands and ….” at this point he couldn’t use words to describe what he saw so he strikes a pose with little T-rex hands clawing out from his sides and rolls his eyes to the back of his head he said ”I don’t friggin give a heck”. He laughed at the joke nobody understood and everyone laughed. You couldn’t help but laugh, not at the joke but at him. I said I needed to write a funny story, not a meme.

“You could always write about a funny incident that really happened,” my Mother said. “I remember a time when you boys were young and I threw you all into the bathtub…”. Everyone suddenly started talking over each other in their rush to not hear the rest of the story. I look at Mother, her eyes twinkling with mischief, and laugh as everyone took her seriously yet nobody listened.

At this point ,Evan returned. In his hands is a creative storytelling game. It’s a fun game and I thought I could at least get a crazy storyline. “I like a play on words,” he said.

“Me too!” I exclaimed and Evan and I launched into a crazy, yet epic story of snails being assaulted. The game forgotten. “Get it?” I asked. “A- salt -ed.” I draw the word out and the pun falls flat as you could cut the silence with a knife. I think Mother groaned.

Then, it was dad’s turn to contribute to the conversation. “I got a story for you”  he started out. “I will never forget the time I was out riding my motorcycle…” Dad can ‘spin a yarn’ as my momma says and I agree. The focus is on dad now, enchilada’s forgotten. “….and suddenly it was ‘aracnicus deathicus’ right there on my visor!” He let out a scream that startled everyone into laughter. His face was red from the exertion of the performance and he started to laugh at his own story.  Everyone was amused and fascinated -wondering what happened next. “I thought the spee-ider was on the outside of my helmet – I’m going 75 mph mind you – and without thinking I slap my visor!”  His gestures were bigger than life. “But the spee-ider was on the inside of my helmet and it smacks right into my face and crawls…” By this time, there is a big ruckus of laughter around that table. My youngest brother was laughing so hard I thought he was going to pee his pants. Dad continued his story without stopping for air. “…I manage to pull over to the side of the road and I’m pulling off my helmet.” He rubbed his face all over to be rid of the spider. I think we all rubbed our faces just to make sure. “…and then I look up to see the sheriff across the road from me and laughing so hard I realized he had witnessed my spectacle. Made his day.” He finished with a deep breath and a sigh.

We finished our enchilada’s with the occasional chuckle and smattering of talk and I thought “This is my funny story.  My family is my content.” With our differences, our quirks and our humors, it is great to get together and laugh. We’re hilarious.

Leave a Reply

