Frog Waffles

Growing up we would ask our mother the age old question “What’s for dinner?”. She would often tease us by saying “Snake lips” or “Gopher Guts”. We wouldn’t be surprised if “Buzzard Barf” or “Lizard Tails” would be on the menu for the evening. We loved asking her and delighted in the conversation. This is one of many mothers skills that I pass down to my own children. My five year old delights in this and comes up with some great menu items with his unlimited imagination. We call him T for short. It was during one of these conversations that “Frog Waffles” was created into being. My husband and I were bantering back and forth with T.  Each one of us trying to one up the other. Now, understand this, nothing get’s my T. He is always ready with a response and a quick come back and usually has us speechless and declaring him the winner; leaving us shaking our heads and mind boggled. On this occasion, however, as we were laughing my husband throws out “Frog Waffles, that’s what I want for dinner. Frog Waffles.” I watched as T mentally flinched away from the imagery. “Aw dad!” he says, “That’s just wrong.” He walked away from the conversation this time- mind boggled. It became a source of teasing for dad was thrilled to be the victorious word banter-er. All he had to do was say “Frog Waffles” and T wouldn’t even engage in word warfare. Until today. My husband came home for lunch and we sat around the table, T, dad and I. T gets a mischievous gleam in his eye as he says “You really should try dried up dragon poo, it’s really quite delicious.” Game on. 

“They are delicious” I jumped in, “I had them for breakfast.”  A pause.

“I think I am allergic to dragon poo.” Dad wavers. 

“He is. It’s the dragon berries that dragons eat. Dad’s quiet allergic to those, makes him get all puffy and swell up.” T didn’t even miss a beat.

“But dad, my dragons don’t eat dragon berries. They eat fire berries from the tickle bush and it makes the most delicious dried up dragon poo.” 

“Is that why your dragons have such great fire breathing skills?” I wonder, “And if so, does eating dried up dragon poo give us the ability to breathe fire?” T and I held this dialog for some minutes as we discussed the differences between dragon berries and fire berries as if we were dried up dragon poo connoisseurs. I could see dad’s head wagging back and forth trying to keep up until finally he shakes his head and says that he can’t keep up.

“I think I have to go back to work now.” I look at T and declare: “I think we just got dad back for Frog Waffles.”

T: “Oh yeah-ha!” High five! 

PS. I didn’t mean to leave you hanging. Dried Up Dragon Poo does NOT, in fact, give us fire breathing abilities. It just tickles going down. 

 

Leave a Reply

